Thursday, November 25, 2010

{CRANBERRY JELLO}

This recipe has been around in our family for as long as I can remember.  Source, Mom?

Anyway, it's really good!

4 pkgs. no-flavor gelatin (you can use vegan gel like agar)
12 oz. cranberry, rasberry, or apple juice concentrate (or combination)
20 oz. can crushed pineapple
2 c. cranberry sauce
1 c. pecans or walnuts, chopped
1/2 to 1 c. vegan sour cream
  • Strain pineapple, reserving juice.
  • Mix concentrate with pineapple juice to make 4 1/2 c.  (Add water if necessary.)
  • Sprinkle gelatin on 1 c. juice mixture.
  • Let sit for 1 minute.
  • Meanwhile, boil remaining 3 1/2 c. juice.
  • Add boiling juice to cold and stir to dissolve gelatin.
  • Pour into 9x13 dish.
  • Refrigerate until half set.  (30 minutes to an hour.  Check every 5-10 minutes after 30 minutes.  It can go very quickly from liquid to set.)
  • Meanwhile, combine and mix crushed pineapple, cranberry sauce, and nuts.
  • When jello is half set, mix in fruit and nuts.

  • Refrigerate 5 more minutes.
  • Swirl or mix in sour cream.
  • Refrigerate to set completely.

4 comments:

Jennifer Greene said...

Hi—I found your blog recently, and I'm a fan! So I hope you won't mind if I raise a question about your latest post, the jello recipe... The ingredient list doesn't specify vegan gelatin, so I wonder if you're aware that regular gelatin is an animal product. It may be that you are, so please forgive me if I'm telling you something you already know. (Fortunately, there are vegan products one can use to "gel" food, like agar.)

You can delete this comment after you receive it, I won't mind at all. I was hoping I could send a discreet email instead of a public comment, but I couldn't find a way to email Rebekah or any other team members.

Thanks again for blogging about your wonderful vegan food adventures! I'm heartened to see a whole family that's excited about food choices that are more compassionate toward animals and better for human health & the environment. I hope many others will follow your wise, kind example. :)

Best wishes,
Jennifer

Rebekah said...

thanks for your comment, jennifer! yes, we're aware that gelatin is not vegan, and you can use agar in its place in this recipe.

i'm glad you found us and hope you've been able to enjoy some of our recipes.

Jennifer Greene said...

Thanks for the reply, Rebekah! Glad to know that you know. Not everyone does.

I'm in the process of launching a site of my own to promote my food presentation business, "Greener Eating"! So I'm a domain-name neighbor of yours, greenereating.org (it's still under construction, but you're welcome to visit), and it's a pleasure to meet the good folks at greenereating.com.

I applaud your vegan-cuisine blogging--the more people who are demonstrating how appealing plant-based food can be, the better. :)

Best wishes,
Jennifer

The Cooking Lady said...

I'm glad Jennifer asked that question first, for that was going to be my quesiton.

I have this great salad recipe my mom use to make, but it is such a dairy laden jello recipe, that I cannot even begin to figure out to veganize it.